McCarthy Funeral Home was established in 1907 by Eugene J. McCarthy. An Irish immigrant, Eugene started the business from his home at 39 Cottage Street in Saxonville. Eugene passed away just five years later leaving his wife Mary A. (Donahue), son Eugene, Sr., and daughter Miriam.
Mary decided to continue the business while her son (a graduate of Framingham High) attended Boston College. By 1933, Eugene Sr. was running the business and eventually moved it to the current location 11 Lincoln Street, Framingham. For the past 30 years the funeral home has been run by Eugene, Jr. and John.
In an effort to spend more time with their families Gene and John sold the funeral home in September of 2015 to Brian McKinney, Robert J. Lawler and William Lawler. Both the McCarthy brothers intend to stay on in a limited capacity.
Under the new name of McCarthy, McKinney & Lawler Funeral Home, they bring with them more then 80 years of experience and ensure the business will continue to be locally owned and family operated in the fine tradition that began in 1907.